Tue, May 22, 2018 05:15 AM
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 issue
2003-06-04 more news
Lawrence among counties in emergency declaration
WASHINGTON, DC President George Bush declared a major disaster exists in Kentucky Tuesday, and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas struck by severe storms, flooding, mud and rock slides, and tornadoes on May 4-27.

Federal funding is now available to affected individuals in 32 counties including: Anderson; Boyd; Breckenridge; Boyle; Bullett; Caldwell; Carter; Crittenden; Elliott; Fleming; Garrard; Grayson; Greenup; Hardin; Hart; Henderson; Hopkins; Jefferson; Jessamine; Larue; Lewis; Lawrence; Mason; McLean; Meade; Mercer; Nelson; Rowan; Union; Washington; Webster; and Woodford.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is available to the Commonwealth and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, mud and rock slides, and tornadoes in the counties of Ballard; Boyd; Breathitt; Calloway; Carter; Crittenden; Estill; Fleming; Greenup; Hart; Henderson; Hopkins; Lewis; Livingston; McLean; Mercer; Nicholas; Owsley; Perry and Rowan.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance Wednesday by calling 1-800-621-3362, or 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing impaired between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Appalachian Regaional
National headlines
Here's what's making headlines on the national scene
Site Search