Tue, May 22, 2018 01:01 PM
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 issue
2003-06-27 schools
Area high school students take part in Governor's Scholars
FRANKFORT Several Big Sandy area students have been named to the Governor's Scholars program, which will be held for five weeks in June and July.

Governor's Scholars from Floyd County include Russell Morgan Salisbury and Matthew Brett Watson, Allen Central High School; Brentton Kane Akers and Adam Jarred Chaffins, Betsy Layne High School; Katherine Madison Adams, David Andrew Joseph, Mandy Brooke May, and William G. May, Prestonsburg High School; Leah S. Hopkins, South Floyd High School; and Matthew Richmond Francis, The Piarist School.

From Johnson County: Kellye Michelle Adams, Garrett Andrew Conley, Shegufta Shefa Sikder, and George Christopher Wells, Johnson Central High School; and Jeffrey Rapier Kinner, Paintsville High School.

From Lawrence County: Amy Elizabeth Crabtree and Rachel Faith Frazier, Lawrence County High School.

From Magoffin County: Brian Scott Barnett, Brittany Leigh Carpenter, Amanda M. Harper, and Savannah Raye Walker, Magoffin County High School.

From Martin County: Mark Daniel Cornette, Rebecca Ernay Goble, Brittany Elizabeth Horn, and Asher Lee Maynard, Sheldon Clark High School.

From Pike County: Timothy Brian Martin, and Danielle Lynette Owens, Belfry High School; Sarah Rebecca Johnson, and Lora Elaine Sykes, East Ridge High School; Nikki Leigh Smith, Phelps High School; Jeffrey Braden Blankenship, Justin Howard, Amber Nicole Hunt, Lesley Shawn Reynolds and Christopher Martin Settles, Pike County Central High School; Elizabeth Anne Combs, Sarah Lindsey Fitzpatrick, Phillip D. Keathley, Virginia Sympson Wachs, Pikeville High School; and Sarah E. Billiter, Anthony Steven Compton, Sandra Nichole Elliott, and Alisha Brooke Johnson, Shelby Valley High School.

Appalachian Regaional
Three LC students make UK Dean's List
Ratliff awarded scholarship to MSU
Staniford chosen as Robinson scholar
Wells honored by USAA
Site Search