Thu, May 24, 2018 03:20 AM
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 issue
August 7 deadline for severe weather-related unemployment insurance

FRANKFORT Kentuckians in Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike and Rowan counties who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather that occurred the week of June 14, may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits.

Farmers and self-employed people, who are normally not eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, may also qualify for disaster unemployment assistance, according to the Department for Employment Services, an agency of the Cabinet for Workforce Development.

Aug. 7 is the deadline for applying for benefits. All regular unemployment insurance benefits and the recent 13-week unemployment insurance extension must be exhausted prior to receiving any disaster benefits. Applications can be filed at local Department for Employment Services offices.

When filing a claim, self-employed people should bring a copy of their 2002 income tax return. Other applicants need only a photo-identification card and their Social Security number.

Appalachian Regaional
Mayo program receives recertification from NATEF
An eye for art
Johnson County bookmobile schedule
Doctor join staff
Site Search