Sun, Mar 18, 2018 02:13 PM
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 issue
UK president urges support of Robinson Scholars program

LEXINGTON — University of Kentucky President Lee T. Todd Jr. recently met with several Lawrence County area citizens to encourage their support for the Robinson Scholars Program, a scholarship program aimed at increasing college attendance in 29 Eastern Kentucky counties.

“I’m here because I share your commitment to improving the lives of Eastern Kentucky’s young people.” Todd said. “We face tough budget times, and it’s essential that UK look beyond state government to find new partners to help us maintain the quality of the programs we offer our students.

“That’s why I ask every Eastern Kentuckian to consider becoming a partner with the University of Kentucky in supporting the Robinson Scholars Program and other academic programs serving our students.”

Since 1997, 11 students from Lawrence County have been inducted into the Robinson Scholars Program. They are Sara Bush, Andra Bush, Kerry Henderson, Zachary Jones, Harold Kelley II, Shane Lemaster, James Maynard II, Courtney Preece-Muncy, Jeconiah Staniford, Briana Wells and Claude Wilson.

Todd was accompanied on the trip by Keith Madison, UKs longtime baseball coach who now heads a drive to increase private gifts to support the Robinson Scholars Program. Brad Goan, the program’s director, also attended the event.

Madison’s special assignment is part of UK’s $1 billion fund-raising campaign to seek private donations for endowments that generate continuing, self-sustaining funding for special scholarships, fellowships and faculty support through earnings from interest and investment income.

The Robinson Scholars endowment could provide several scholarships annually in the 29 Eastern Kentucky counties it targets, depending on the number and amounts made to the program

Launched in 1997, the program already has assisted 239 Eastern Kentucky young people seek college educations, while 116 are in high school preparing to attend UK, Lexington Community College, or another of Kentucky’s community or technical colleges.

Each spring, the program selects at least one eighth-grade student from each of the 29 counties.

Appalachian Regaional
Inez community center has lots to offer
Living in the Twilight Zone
Tourism tidbits
Hospice care center to open in Ashland
Site Search